Applications *)

In the following we describe two typical two typical areas, where you can work with perometers. The first relates to the fitting of compressions stockings, which in Germany is already carried out to a considerable extent using perometers.



In a first step a picture is taken from the patient’ s extremity. It needs only a few seconds to record about 170 diameter pairs of the object to be measured. A scan is composed out of these diameters and is displayed on the screen – either directly after measurement or at any later time (see Fig. 1).

The markings correspond to the standard measures defined in the compression therapy and can be moved as desired by the mouse. The circumference and the length are displayed interactively for each measure. Of course the measurement system determines the direction of the local axis of the leg in order to take the circumferences vertical to it. This is necessary for the fitting of a compression stocking. A comfortable software allows to find the optimal stocking for the patient and to directly order it from the manufacturer if a made-to-measure stocking is necessary.


Fig. 1: Scan of a leg taken by a Perometer

With a second Perometer option it is possible to analyze an edema quantitatively e.g. regarding its position on the extremity or its chronological development

Fig. 2 above: Circumference versus distance from the foot sole of
two measurements of a leg .
Fig 2 below: Difference of the two plots above. The diagram shows
how much the circumference changed

The extremity is thought to consist of a large number of thin vertical slices. In a chart the circumference versus distance from the foot sole of these slices is displayed. This chart is called the “circumference profile” of the extremity. Fig. 2 shows the circumference profiles for two measurements of a right leg. The first was taken one week after an operation caused by an injury of Achille’s tendon, the second another week later. Both outlines are nearly identical (top diagram). The thinnest part at the ankle joint is characterized by a very small circumference at a length of 17cm. Identify the calf by the local circumference maximum at a length of 40cm. The thigh causes the increase in circumference on the right of the diagram.

The lower half of figure 2 shows changes of the patient’ s leg between the two pictures. The leg has shrinked in the second week after the operation, especially the calf has lost up to 2cm of its circumference during this time while the thigh has remained nearly unchanged.

The effect of a manual lymphdrainage at a patient can also be regarded with the Perometer. In order to document the process, scans of both legs are taken before and after the treatment. In addition to the options discussed here a function to create volume versus time charts is avilable. With the help of its graphs it is possible to control the success of the therapy. Realize if the therapy is going well or if it stagnates.


*) For the applications described on this page the perometer is used as a medical device. Note that outside Europe in several countries, especially in America, the intended use of a Perometer and of all other products of Pero-System currently does not comprise medical applications. Mail to info{at}pero-system.de for more information.

Anwendungen

Im Folgenden beschreiben wir zwei typische Arbeitsbeispiele von Perometern. Das erste betrifft die Anmessung von medizinischen Strümpfen im Rahmen der Kompressionstherapie, die in Deutschland bereits in erheblichem Umfang mit Hilfe von Perometern vorgenommen wird.


Von der zu versorgenden Extremität wird zunächst ein Bild ihrer Konturen angefertigt. Dabei werden innerhalb von wenigen Sekunden ca. 170 Durchmesserpaare aufgenommen und wie ein Foto auf dem Bildschirm dargestellt. Dies ist sofort nach der Messung oder zu einem beliebigen Zeitpunkt später möglich (siehe Bild 1).

Die Markierungen entsprechen den in der Kompressionstherapie definierten Normmaßen und können durch die Maus beliebig verschoben werden. Der jeweils aktuelle Umfang an den Markierungen sowie das dazugehörige Längenmaß werden interaktiv angezeigt. Selbstverständlich bestimmt das Messsystem selbständig die Richtung der Beinachse an jeder Messstelle und bestimmt die Umfangslinie, wie für die Strumpfmessung erforderlich, jeweils senkrecht zu dieser Beinachse. Eine wohl durchdachte Auswertungssoftware erlaubt die Ermittlung des richtigen Strumpfes sowie die Bestellung beim Hersteller, falls ein Maßstrumpf erforderlich ist.


Bild 1: Konturenfoto eines Beines

Benötigt man eine quantitative Beurteilung eines Ödems, z.B. bezüglich seiner Lage auf der Extremität oder seiner zeitlichen Entwicklung, so ist das mit der zweiten, im Folgenden beschriebenen Perometeroption möglich.

Bild 2: Umfangsprofile eines Beines, ermittelt aus zwei Konturenfotos (oben) und Differenz der beiden Umfangsprofile (unten)

Man denkt sich dafür die Extremität aus einzelnen, senkrecht stehenden, schmalen Scheiben zusammengesetzt und trägt den Umfang dieser Scheiben gegen den Ort auf. Es entsteht dadurch das „Umfangsprofil“ der Extremität. Es ist im Bild 2 für zwei Messungen eines rechten Beines dargestellt. Sie wurden im Abstand einer Woche gewonnen und stellen den Zustand 1 Woche und 2 Wochen nach der Operation eines Achillessehnenabrisses rechts dar. Beide Profile sind fast identisch. Deutlich ist die schmalste Stelle an der Fessel, gekennzeichnet durch einen sehr kleinen Umfang bei ca. 17 cm Beinlänge, die Wade mit einem lokalen Umfangsmaximum bei ca. 40 cm Beinlänge, der Patellabereich und Oberschenkel zu beobachten.

Das Bild 2 zeigt unten die Änderung des Umfangsprofils zwischen den zwei Aufnahmen des Patientenbeines. Das Bein hat sich im Verlauf der 2. Woche nach der Operation deutlich, besonders im Bereich der Wade bis zu 2 cm im Umfang verringert; der Oberschenkel ist unverändert geblieben.

Auch die Wirkung einer manuellen Lymphdrainage an einem Patienten läßt sich mit dem Perometer beobachten. Zur Dokumentation werden von beiden Beinen vor und nach der Behandlung je ein maßstabexaktes Bild aufgenommen. Zusätzlich zu den hier gezeigten Optionen kann man mit dem Perometer auch eine Volumen-Zeit-Darstellung beliebiger Extremitätenabschnitte erstellen. Aus den Kurven entnimmt man den Erfolg der Therapie und kann ermitteln, ob und wann eine Behandlung stagniert.